Wish I could go back to school

IMG_3053

Do you sometimes feel you wanna go back to school? I mean, when you were 5 or 6 years old and you didn’t have to worry about the laundry and what to cook for dinner? Well, when I came across a lot of old schoolmaterial I wished I could go back to school! I found this material in a secondhandstore in a box that was put on a shelf in the corner with some old toys. It was just when I got home that I realized how much drawings there were and how lovely they are! Unfortunately I couldn’t find much information about this schoolmaterial in the box, let alone on the internet. I don’t know the name of the illustrator, nor when it was published. I guess it must be the sixties, early seventies. The publisher is N. Samsom Uitgever from Alphen aan den Rijn (now Wolters-Kluwer).

Heb je dat ook wel eens, dat je terug wilt naar school? Ik bedoel naar de tijd dat je een jaar of 5,6 was en je niet druk hoefde te maken over de was en wat je vanavond moet koken? Nou, toen ik een heleboel oud schoolmateriaal in de kringloopwinkel vond, wilde ik wel weer graag terug naar school! Het materiaal dat ik vond, was verstopt in een oude doos met speelplaten van foam en op een plank gezet in de  hoek met oud speelgoed. Toen ik thuis kwam, realiseerde ik mij pas hoe veel tekeningen er waren en hoe geweldig ze zijn! Helaas kon ik bijna geen informatie vinden over dit materiaal, zelfs niet op internet. Ik weet niet wie de tekeningen maakte en wanneer het uitgegeven is. Ik denk eind jaren zestig, begin jaren zeventig. De uitgever is N. Samsom Uitgever uit Alphen aan den Rijn (nu Wolters-Kluwer).

IMG_3065

What I do know  (there is a explanatory statement) is that this material was put on a ‘flannel shield’ (I do not know the English word for it -sorry) in the classroom. The teacher could use it to illustrate her or his lessons. To have a conversation about the autumn or a schooltrip. Most of the material was cut out but not all. So now I have some wonderful whole pages with illustrations which are so beautiful I could frame them and hang it on the wall! Unfortunately the flannel paper did not stood the test of time, I can’t stick the illustrations properly on it. Never mind, I wasn’t going to teach!

Wat ik wel weet (er is een toelichting) is dat het materiaal op een flanelbord werd geplakt en dat het kon dienen als illustratiemateriaal bij een les over bijvoorbeeld de herfst of een schoolreisje. Het was in de eerste plaats bedoeld voor de eerste en tweede klas. Het merendeel van het materiaal is uitgeknipt maar ik heb ook nog een paar vellen die nog helemaal intact zijn en de illustraties zijn zo mooi dat ik de pagina’s in een lijst aan de muur kan hangen! Helaas heeft het flanel de tand des tijds niet doorstaan, ik kan de plaatjes er niet mooi op plakken maar dat maakt niet uit, ik was toch niet van plan om het onderwijs in te gaan!

IMG_3057 IMG_3059 IMG_3061

IMG_2891
IMG_3294

Because I have so much of this material, I am selling some of it. A creative person/artist can make better use of it. Mail me if you are interested. (The pages that are still intact are not for sale :)) And…. if you know more about this old schoolmaterial, please let me know! Especially about the illustrator.

Omdat ik zoveel materiaal heb, verkoop ik het grootste deel. Een creatief persoon of kunstenaar kan er veel meer mee. Mail me als je geïnteresseerd bent (de pagina’s die nog intact zijn, verkoop ik niet :)). En… weet je meer over dit schoolmateriaal, laat het mij weten! Vooral over de illustrator!
IMG_3048

2 comments

Leave a Reply

