Enid Blyton

I couldn’t even pronounce her name right: ‘Eind Blijton’ or something. But I loved her books! The Twins, Darrell Rivers, The Adventure Series, the Naughtiest Girl and of course: The Famous Five. I kept most of the books and just recently found them back in a box in the attic. When I look through the books (most of them taped with adhesivetape), I realise why I was so fascinated by her stories. I mean: who went to a boarding school and had a teacher whose name was Mam’zelle? Not me! And George, Julian, Dick and Anne always got caught up in an adventure! Yes, I wanted to go to Malory Towers or Kirrin Island.

I liked the Darrel Rivers-books most. Although… The Adventure Series were quite exciting. What about you?

Ik kon haar naam niet eens goed uitspreken: ‘eind blijton’ maakte ik er maar van. Maar ik verslond haar boeken. De dolle tweeling, Pitty, Het kasteel van Avontuur, de Grootste Belhamel en De Vijf natuurlijk. Ik heb de pockets bijna allemaal bewaard, al vallen ze ondanks de plakband bijna uit elkaar. Ik vond ze laatst weer terug in een doos op zolder en als ik ze weer doorblader, weet ik weer waarom ik de boeken zo fascinerend vond. Want wie ging er nou naar kostschool en had een lerares die Mam’zelle heette? En George, Julian, Dick en Annie raakten altijd in een spannend avontuur verzeild! Ik wilde ook wel naar Malory Towers of Kirrin Eiland!
Ik denk dat ik de Pitty-boeken toch wel het leukste vond. Hoewel… die Avonturenboeken waren toch ook wel heel spannend. En jij?

The Adventure series
2 comments

Geef een reactie

