Four plates of Denmark

If I had my way, I would go to Denmark every summer. I love the landscape with their sinuous roads, the white churches and long beaches. And don’t forget the delicious yoghurt, the cinnamonbread and Legoland! We don’t bring along souvenirs. Well, of course I visit the second-hand stores (genbrug) and then I come across some beautiful treasures (but more about that later). Anyway, I mostly come across the authentic souvenirs (like a mini Eiffel Tower, a piggy bank in the shape of a English double-decker and a plate of the Nigara Falls) in second-hand stores in my surroundings. And mostly souvenirs which are about 10, 20 years old. Which makes me think: did ‘we’ bring along more souvenirs in the past? Not only for ourselves but also for our grandparents who were surprised by a token from a country who they probably never had visited. In the last couple of years I bought four plates of Denmark in the Dutch second-hand stores. Couldn’t resist them. My favourite is the plate of Inger Waage with the cheerful image of Tivoli. What about you, do you bring along souvenirs from your holidaycountry? Het liefst zou ik elk jaar naar Denemarken op vakantie gaan. Ik houd van het landschap met zijn kronkelende wegen, de witte kerken en lange stranden. En vergeet ook de heerlijke yoghurt, de kaneelbroodjes en Legoland niet! Souvenirs meenemen doen we eigenlijk niet. Nou ja, ik struin in Denemarken natuurlijk wel de kringloopwinkels (genbrug) af en dan kom ik prachtige schatten tegen (waarover later een keer meer). Toch vind ik die authentieke souvenirs (de Eiffeltoren op mini-formaat, een spaarpot in de vorm van een Engelse dubbeldekker en een wandbord van de Niagara Falls) voornamelijk in de kringloopwinkels in mijn omgeving. En dan vooral de souvenirs van enkele tientallen jaren geleden. Wat bij mij de gedachte oproept dat ‘we’ vroeger toch meer souvenirs mee naar huis namen. Niet alleen voor onszelf maar ook voor opa en oma die verrast werden met een aandenken aan een land waar ze vermoedelijk zelf nog nooit geweest waren. Vier wandborden van Denemarken heb ik de afgelopen paar jaar in de Nederlandse kringloopwinkels gekocht. Ik kon ze niet weerstaan. Mijn favoriet is het wandbord van Inger Waage met die vrolijke afbeelding van Tivoli in Kopenhagen. En jij, neem jij souvenirs mee uit je vakantieland?

Geef een reactie

