Wooden jigsaws

I love jigsaws! Especially those of Jan van Haasteren. The jigsaws with 1000 pieces of course…. In the winter I love it to put all those tiny pieces together. Takes me a week or two. I also have a soft spot for the old wooden jigsaws  for kids. I think everyone played with them, or not? And yes, when I see a wooden jigsaw on a fleamarket, I have to buy it…. The maker of most of my wooden jigsaws is Simplex, a Dutch company. The Waalres museum obtained the Simplex collection of Will Hollanders, the old supervisor of the company. De first wooden jigsaws (by then not named Simplex), date back from the Second World War. During the first years of the company, the jigsaws were made of left over wood, coming from the manufacturing of radio cabinets for Philips. Click here for more information (in Dutch).

Ik ben gek op legpuzzels. Vooral die van Jan van Haasteren. En dan de puzzels met 1000 stukjes natuurlijk. Vooral in de winter houd ik er van om ze te maken. Ik doe er ongeveer twee weken over. Ik ben ook gek op de houten legpuzzels van vroeger. Die had toch iedereen? En ja, kom ik er eentje tegen op een rommelmarkt, dan kan ik ze niet weerstaan… De houten puzzels die ik in mijn bezit heb, zijn volgens mij allemaal van Simplex. Op de site van het Waalres museum staat een leuk stukje over de geschiedenis van het bedrijf.Het museum is in het bezit van de Simplex collectie van Will Hollanders, oud-bedrijfsleider van het bedrijf. De eerste puzzelplankjes, die toen nog niet de naam Simplex droegen, dateren uit de Tweede Wereldoorlog. En de puzzels werden in de beginjaren gemaakt van resthout, afkomstig van de fabricage van radiokasten voor Philips. Klik hier voor meer informatie.

Geef een reactie

