Sweden in colour

Göteborg

One of my favourite countries is Sweden. I spend my holidays there and even studied Swedish for two years at university in Holland. I love the country, the colourful wooden houses, the lakes and of course I’ll shop at Ikea!
The pictures are from a book that I bought in a second hand-shop. No, not in Sweden, in Holland…
‘Sverige in färg’ (Sweden in colour) is a ‘pictorial cavalcade of this vast country’,
says the intro of the book that has no date but I guess it is late sixties. The publisher is Aktiebolaget Grafisk Konst in Stockholm. The pictures were taken by Giovanni Trimboli, the covering letter is in four languages (Swedish, German, French and English).
I like the pictures, not only because they show the wonderful countryside but it gives also
an image of the time. Notice for example the cars and the people.

p.s. There is another clue why I think this book is from the late sixties. Until september 3, 1967
the cars in Sweden were driving on the left side on the road. Notice the sign on the picture of Haparanda which says
‘Keep right’ when you cross the border to Finland.

Een van mijn favoriete landen is Zweden. Ik heb er heel wat vakanties doorgebracht en heb zelfs twee jaar Zweeds gestudeerd. Ik houd van het land, de kleurrijke houten huizen, de meren en natuurlijk winkel ik bij Ikea!
De foto’s komen uit een boek dat ik in een kringloopwinkel heb gekocht bij mij in de buurt.
‘Sverige in färg’ (Zweden in kleur) is a ‘pictorial cavalcade of this vast country’, staat er in de introductie van het boek waarin geen jaar van uitgave staat. Ik vermoed dat het boek eind jaren zestig is verschenen.
De uitgever is Aktiebolaget Grafisk Konst in Stockholm. De foto’s zijn genomen door Giovanni Trimboli. De begeleidende tekst is in vier talen (Engels, Duits, Zweeds en Frans).
Ik vind de foto’s geweldig, niet alleen omdat ze een beeld geven van het land maar ook van de tijd. Let bijvoorbeeld op de auto’s en de mensen.

p.s. Er is nog een aanwijzing waarom ik denk dat het boek uit de late jaren zestig is.
Tot 3 september 1967 reden de auto’s aan de linkerkant van de weg. Let maar eens op het verkeersbord op de foto van Haparanda waarop staat dat je aan de rechterkant van de
weg moet rijden als je de grens met Finland oversteekt.

 

Varberg
Kalmar Slott

 

Stockholm

 

Örebro

 

 

Haparanda
Geef een reactie

