The wonderful illustrations of Alain Grée

I first noticed the work of Alain Grée when I saw a book of him in a second-hand store. It was a book about the sea (The world under sea: Sous l’ocean). I bought it (although it was almost falling apart) and after I read a bit and enjoyed the lovely pictures it was put on a shelf in my studyroom.
A couple of weeks ago, I was going through some books in a second-hand store, looking for some vintage children’s books, when I noticed another book of Alain Grée. ‘Lees en doe mee’, ‘Read and join in’. I whispered ”yes” although I wanted to say that really loud and put the book on my pile of vintage treasures that I already found in the store.

In ‘Lees en doe mee’ the publishers (Zuid-Nederlandse uitgeverij and Centrale Uitgeverij) have put together 8 books from Alain Grée in one volume. The book contains texts about counting, flowers, airplanes, animals, cars and colours. It’s a great book and the illustrations are so lively and colourful. Want to know more about Alain Grée? Click here.

Ik kwam voor het eerst in aanraking met het werk van Alain Grée toen ik een boek van hem kocht in een kringloopwinkel. Een boek over de zee (De wereld onder de zee). Ik kocht het (hoewel het bijna uit elkaar viel), las er wat in en genoot van de prachtige tekeningen. Daarna zette ik het op de boekenplank in mijn studeerkamer.
Een paar weken geleden, toen ik tussen de oude boeken snuffelde in een kringloopwinkel, op zoek naar wat kinderboeken, ontdekte ik een ander boek van Alain Grée: ‘Lees en doe mee’. Ik fluisterde ‘yes’ hoewel ik dat eigenlijk wel heel hard wilde roepen en legde het boek bovenop mijn stapel met andere vintage schatten die ik al in de winkel had gevonden.

In ‘Lees en doe mee’ hebben de uitgevers (Zuid-Nederlandse uitgeverij en Centrale Uitgeverij) acht boeken van Alain Grée samengevoegd. Het boek bevat teksten over tellen, bloemen, vliegtuigen, dieren, auto’s en kleuren. Het is een fantastisch boek en de illustraties zijn zo levendig en kleurrijk.
Wil je meer weten over Alain Grée? Klik dan hier.

Geef een reactie

