Loom knitting instead of crochet

At school I learned how to knit. And didn’t like it much. So that was perhaps the reason, now that everyone is creatieve nowadays with cotton and wool, to start crochet. Well, I have to admit, it’s not going well with my crochet. I can crochet a circle but I’m afraid my dream of crocheting a bedspread will probably never come true (but: never say never!). But then I discovered the knitting loom. I was sceptic of course but I have started really well and I like it so far! I want to make a warm, woolen hat and maybe trying to knit some socks. Yes, you can even knit socks on it! My grandmother knitted socks (with four needles!) and watched television at the same time. I don’t know if I could do that once I’m an experienced loom knitter but who knows… At this moment it’s important to finish that hat!
By the way, I thought loom knitting was a new invention but it’s not. When I was turning over the leaves of a book about handicraft (published in 1973) there was a whole chapter about loom knitting! Although they didn’t call it loom knitting but spool knitting (or is French knitting a better phrase?).
Well, time to go to the shops. I just broke my loom knitting pick….

Op de lagere school heb ik breien geleerd. En ik vond het niet leuk. Dus dat was misschien ook wel de reden, nu iedereen zo creatief is met wol en katoen, om te gaan haken. Tja, ik moet toegeven dat het niet zo goed gaat met het haken. Ik kan een rondje haken maar ik ben bang dat mijn droom om een sprei te haken, nooit zal uitkomen (hoewel: zeg nooit nooit!). Maar nu heb ik de breiring ontdekt. Ik was wat sceptisch natuurlijk maar ik ben goed begonnen en ik vind het tot nu toe leuk om te doen!
Ik wil een warme wollen muts maken en misschien sokken breien. Ja, je kunt zelfs sokken breien op een breiring! Mijn oma kon sokken breien (op vier pennen!) en tegelijkertijd tv kijken. Ik weet niet of ik dat ook kan als ik een ervaren ‘breiringbreier’ (leuk scrabblewoord!) ben, maar wie weet.. Eerst maar eens die muts afmaken.
Trouwens, ik dacht dat breien op een breiring een nieuwe uitvinding was, maar dus niet. Toen ik een oud boek over handwerken uit 1973 doorbladerde, stond er een heel hoofdstuk in over breien op een breiring! Het werd toen punniken genoemd. Maar ik moet nu naar de winkel, de speciale haaknaald die bij de breiringen hoort, heb ik in twee stukken gebroken…..

From the book ‘Alles over handwerken’, Cantecleer 1973.
The book is a translation of the Swedish book
‘Stora Sy & Handarbetsboken’, Wezäta Förlag, 1965 and 1972.
Picture from the magazine ‘Mode ’69’ from Nevada.
Geef een reactie

