My woolen hat

It’s pouring today. Just a day to stay home and read a book (I’m reading ”Nightmare” by Lars Kepler at the moment), doing the laundry or…. yes…. go knitting! Well yes, I finished my woolen hat! I’m very proud of course although my hat looks a bit like an eggwarmer but nevertheless, I can say that my first loomknittingproject was a succes! You can actually wear my hat, it’s warm and it has a pompom (made by my 9-years old son)! So, now I have to start a new project which isn’t easy. Knitting some socks is not really something for step 2 in my learning proces!
Isela Phelps wrote a book about loomknitting. In her book ‘Loom Knitting Primer’ (translated as ‘Breien met breiringen’) she shows different stiches. I think I’ll start with that. Maybe knit some more hats because I found it very a rewarding proces to knit like this! So, is there anyone who needs a woolen hat?

p.s On her blog (http://isela.typepad.com/loomknitting/) you find more great patterns from Isela Phelps! The bangles she made are great!

Het regent (en het blijft maar regenen). Echt een dag om thuis te blijven en een boek te lezen (´Contract´ van Lars Kepler bijvoorbeeld), de was te doen of… inderdaad… te gaan breien! Ja, ik heb mijn wollen muts af! Erg trots natuurlijk op mijn muts ook al ziet ie er een beetje uit als een eierwarmer maar niettemin: ik kan zeggen dat mijn eerste breiringproject een succes was! Je kunt mijn muts echt dragen, hij is warm en er zit ook nog een pompom op, gemaakt door mijn zoon (9 jaar). Dus, ik moet nu aan een nieuw project beginnen en dat is niet gemakkelijk. Sokken breien lijkt mij niet echt geschikt voor stap 2 in mijn leerproces!
Isela Phelps heeft een boek geschreven over breien zonder naalden. In haar boek ´Breien met breiringen´, laat ze verschillende steken zien. Ik denk dat ik daar maar eerst mee begin. En misschien nog meer mutsen breien want op deze manier breien geeft mij veel voldoening. Dus, iemand die nog een muts nodig heeft?

p.s. Op haar blog (http://isela.typepad.com/loomknitting/) vind je nog meer leuke patronen van Isela Phelps. Vooral haar armbanden zijn prachtig!

 

This is a very stylish woolen hat, don´t you think?
It´s a pattern from Passap (1967).
This woolen hat is for very cold days! (3Suisses, 1969)
This is a great piece of furniture for my wool! (3Suisses, date unknown)
Geef een reactie

