Hello to mr Owl, whats happening today?

 

I think I was about 2 years old when I watched it for the very first time. And, according to my parents, I loved it! Every night around 7 o’clock (if I’m right) I watched ‘De Fabeltjeskrant’ on our black-and-white television. (Yes, a tv without a remote control!) Until now I didn’t know that ‘De Fabeltjeskrant’ had also adaptations in other countries but on the site of the tv serie (click here) I learned that the tv-serie was shown in more than 40 countries all over the world! In the UK it was called The Daily Fable.

The serie was really populair in the Netherlands and ran from 1968 until 1973 and from 1985 til 1992. Leen Valkenier wrote the stories for the puppets, based on the fables of Jean de La Fontaine. I loved all the characters who appeared on the screen, especially Mr. Owl. After he told the news from the ‘Fable Land’, the owl always gave a wink and said right all you little people, heads under wings, beaks under blankets, all eyes closed – goodnight! I didn’t go to bed until the owl gave that wink. In my bedroom I had almost all the characters in onedimensional plastic on my wall -and I could tell my parents who was who! Unfortunately I don’t have them anymore….

Ik denk dat ik een jaar of 2 was toen ik er voor het eerst naar keek. En, volgens mijn ouders, vond ik het geweldig! Elke avond rond 7 uur (als ik het goed heb) keek ik naar De Fabeltjeskrant op onze zwart-wit televisie (ja, een tv zonder afstandsbediening!). Tot nu toe wist ik niet dat De Fabeltjeskrant ook in andere landen op tv te zien was, maar toen ik op de site keek van de tv-serie (klik hier) kwam ik er achter dat de serie in meer dan 40 landen in de wereld werd uitgezonden. In Groot-Brittannië heette de serie The Daily Fable.

De serie was populair in Nederland en werd uitgezonden van 1968 tot 1973 en van 1985 tot 1992. Leen Valkenier was de schrijver van de verhaaltjes voor de poppen, gebaseerd op de fabels van Jean de La Fontaine. Ik vond alle karakters leuk, vooral meneer de Uil. Als hij het nieuws van Fabeltjesland verteld had, gaf meneer de Uil een knipoog en zei hij: ‘En nu maar knus naar jullie warme nestjes en …. denk er om: oogjes dicht en snaveltjes toe. Slaap lekker’. Ik ging niet eerder naar bed totdat meneer de Uil had geknipoogd. Op mijn slaapkamer had ik bijna alle figuren in eendimensionaal plastic aan de muur hangen en ik kon mijn ouders vertellen wie wie was! Helaas heb ik ze niet meer….

There was a lot of merchandise of  The Daily Fable. Apart from books they made puppets, jigsaws, clocks and even produced canisters. And a couple of years ago I went with my children to the theatre to watch ‘Fabeltjeskrant the musical’. Loved it of course….

Er was veel merchandise van De Fabeltjeskrant. Naast boeken kwamen er poppen, puzzels, klokken en beschuitbussen op de markt. Een paar jaar geleden ben ik met mijn kinderen naar de musical van De Fabeltjeskrant geweest. Vond het geweldig natuurlijk… ‘Hup daar komt Willem met de waterpomptang’.  

Yes, I can still sing the themesong of The Daily Fable for you, without looking at the text! For my English readers here is the translation of the song and some episodes.

Ja, ik kan nog steeds het liedje van de Fabeltjeskrant zingen! Uit mijn hoofd! Zing mee! Klik hier!

Geef een reactie

