Don’t do this to a vase

When you read my blog regularly, you know that I have changed our livingroom. We painted a red wall white and lay laminate. Sometimes you want to change things. And when you are using Pinterest and love DIY, I think you probably like it when a teapot becomes a lamp and an empty toilet paper roll turns into a bird feeder (cover an empty toilet paper roll in peanut butter and bird seed and attach a string to it). But when it comes to painting W-Germany vases…. well…. please don’t…..

On a sunny saturdaymorning I went to one of my favourite fleamarkets, in front of the local church. I went early (before opening, I had to stand behind the red-white line) to take a quick look at the items that were on sale. I spotted a vase that looked like a W-Germany piece but the colour wasn’t right. I was intrigued and couldn’t wait to investigate!
When the sale started, I almost ran to the vase, turned it around and noticed that is was marked as a W-Germany piece. I paid 2 or 3 euros for the vase (height: 40 cm!), put it in my bag and searched the market for more treasures. I can’t remember what else I bought that morning but I do know that when I got home, the first thing I did was to put to vase on the table and took a closer look. I noticed that the vase was painted (in an awful red colour) and that it was hiding a stunning vase! How could you paint such a beautiful vase red?

Als je mijn blog regelmatig leest, weet je dat ik de woonkamer heb veranderd. We hebben een rode wand wit geverfd en laminaat gelegd. Soms wil je dingen veranderen. En als je Pinterest gebruikt en van DIY houdt, vind je het waarschijnlijk ook leuk als een theepot verandert in een lamp en dat je vogels kunt voeren met behulp van een lege toiletrol (rol de lege toiletrol door de pindakaas en vogelvoer en doe er een touwtje door). Maar als je W-Germany vazen gaat verven…. alsjeblieft niet…..

Op een zonnige zaterdagmorgen ging ik naar een van mijn favouriete rommelmarkten, op het plein voor de plaatselijke kerk. Ik ging vroeg zodat ik vanachter de rood-witte lijn even snel kon kijken wat er zoal te koop was. Ik zag een vaas die deed denken aan W-Germany maar de kleur was niet goed. Ik was geïntrigeerd en kon niet wachten om de vaas aan een nader onderzoek te onderwerpen!
Toen de markt los ging, rende ik zo’n beetje naar de vaas, hield m ondersteboven en ontdekte dat hij inderdaad het merkteken van W-Germany had. Ik betaalde 2 of 3 euro voor de vaas (hoogte: 40 cm!), stopte ‘m in mijn tas en ging op zoek naar meer schatten. Ik weet niet meer wat ik nog meer heb gekocht die morgen maar ik weet nog wel dat toen ik thuis kwam, de vaas direct op tafel heb gezet en nader heb onderzocht. Ik ontdekte toen dat de vaas rood was geverfd (een vreselijke kleur rood) en dat er een schitterende vaas onder verborgen zat! Hoe kun je zo’n prachtige vaas nou rood verven?

The next weeks I scraped the paint of the vase. It was a painstaking job but well worth. This piece of ceramics is now one of my favourite vases! I didn’t scrape of all the paint. For me this vase is a example of the different tastes of people.

De weken daarna heb ik de verf van de vaas geschraapt. Een secuur werkje maar de moeite waard. De vaas is nu een van mijn favorieten. Ik heb niet alle verf er af geschraapt. Deze vaas is nou echt een voorbeeld van ‘smaken verschillen’.

3 comments

  1. Hi AlwaysRedhead,The blog is in English and Dutch. After the English paragraph, there is the Dutch translation (for my Dutch readers). When you read further (below the pictures), you will find that the English story will continue. And then you will find out what a stunning vase is below that red paint!Kind regards and thank you for reading my blog!Simone

Geef een reactie

