The toffee hammer of Charlie Ross

IMG_2314

Every week I’m going to the gym area. Twice a week if possible. Usually I’m doing a tummy crunch and some cycling and I’ll end my session with a walk of 35-40 minutes on a treadmill (no, not a stroll, I really step out briskly!).  During that walk I watch what is on the telly in front of me. Time flies when you’re walking and watching!  I like to watch the programmes of the BBC and Discovery Channel. Yes, you are right, the programmes where they are buying and selling antiques or vintage items (Flog It, Auction Kings, etc)! During one of my last visits to the gym I watched an episode of The Antiques Road Trip (BBC1) with Charlie Ross (and – I am not sure: Thomas Plant?). (I tried to find this episode on the internet but failed). In this episode Ross is attracted to a toffee hammer. It brought back happy childhood memories. He remembered how the hard toffee was hammered into small pieces.  I think Ross got the hammer for a very small price because of these memories. I don’t know how much he got for the hammer at auction but it was more than the 43 (?) pence.

Last weekend I went to one of my favourite secondhandshops and guess what: on a cupboard between some vases and tableware, there it was: a toffee hammer! I couldn’t believe my eyes! This one was by Sharps and it was in good condition. I had to take it home! It cost me 2,00 euros. I don’t know if they sold or sell Sharps toffee in The Netherlands. I don’t know the product. On the site of History World I found a great advert for the candy (http://www.historyworld.co.uk/):

Elke week ga ik naar de fitness. Het liefst twee keer per week als het kan. Ik doe mijn buikspieroefeningen, ik fiets of sta op de crosstrainer en ik eindig mijn sessie met een wandeling van ongeveer 35-40 minuten op de loopband (nee, geen rustig wandelingetje, ik zet echt de pas er in!). Tijdens mijn wandeling kijk ik naar de televisie die voor mij aan de muur hangt. De tijd vliegt hoor als je wandelt en tv kijkt! Ik kijk graag naar de programma’s van de BBC en Discovery Channel. Yep, inderdaad, de programma’s waar ze antiek en vintage items kopen en verkopen (Flog it, Auction Kings etc)! Tijdens een van mijn laatste sessies op de loopband keek ik naar een aflevering van The Antiques Road Trip (BBC1) met Charlie Ross (en Thomas Plant, maar dat weet ik niet zeker). (Ik heb nog geprobeerd de aflevering op internet te vinden maar helaas…). In deze aflevering trekt een toffee hamer de aandacht van Ross. Hij heeft er fijne jeugdherinneringen aan. De winkelier die de stukken toffee in stukken hakt voor de verkoop… Volgens mij kreeg Ross de hamer voor een klein prijsje omdat hij er zulke fijne herinneringen aan had. Geen idee wat de toffee hamer op de veiling opleverde maar vast meer dan de 43(?) pence die hij er voor betaalde!

Afgelopen week ging ik naar een van mijn favoriete kringloopwinkels en daar, op een kastje tussen de vazen en serviesgoed, lag een toffee hamer! Ik kon mijn ogen niet geloven! Deze hamer was van Sharps. De toffee hamer, die in goede staat verkeerde, kostte me 2 euro! Ik moest m natuurlijk mee naar huis nemen! Werd Sharps toffee vroeger in Nederland verkocht of is het nog te koop? Ik vond in elk geval een prachtige advertentie van Sharps op de site van History World (http://www.historyworld.co.uk/):

sharp2[1]

But I found more interesting items last week. On a busy fleamarket I spotted a painting. I like items that are odd and curious and this painting was just that. It’s a portrait of a lady in front of a building and mountains. Is she a dancer? In the corner it says: ‘J.B. Palsen, 1946′. I bought the painting and tried to find out more about the painter when I got home and looked on the internet. Well, alas, I couldn’t find much so it’s probably not a famous painter… Maybe I should go to ‘Flog it’ or ‘The Antiques Road Show’ and learn that indeed, this painting is worth a lot of money? Or just hang it on the wall? Well, at this moment the story behind the painting (who is the painter, who is the woman and where was it painted) is something I’m most curious about!

Maar ik heb afgelopen week nog meer leuke dingen gevonden. Op een drukke rommelmarkt ontdekte ik een schilderij. Ik houd van items die een beetje vreemd en apart zijn en dit schilderij is dat. Het is een portret van een vrouw met bergen en een gebouw op de achtergrond. Is ze een danseres? In de rechteronderhoek staat: ‘J.B. Palsen, 1946’.  Ik kocht het schilderij en probeerde thuis, via internet, meer informatie te vinden over de schilder.  Nou, dat leverde niet veel op dus het zal wel geen beroemde schilder zijn. Misschien moet ik eens naar ‘Tussen Kunst & Kitsch’ om er achter te komen dat dit schilderij inderdaad veel geld zal opleveren. Of toch maar gewoon aan de muur hangen? Op dit moment ben ik eigenlijk veel meer geïnteresseerd in het verhaal achter het schilderij! Wie is de schilder, wie is de vrouw en waar is het schilderij gemaakt?

IMG_2316 IMG_2317 IMG_2318

Geef een reactie

