A weaver’s frame

IMG_2576

I tried crochet, I tried knitting on a loom so it’s just one step away from weaving! It’s like stepping back in time doing all these creative things nowadays! I can remember that I knitted and weaved at primary school (and making a robot from clothes pegs but I’ll write about that another time). It may sounds strange but I can’t remember how I did weave. I must have used a weaver’s frame. What I do remember is that a mother of one of my classmates taught us how to weave. I came home with a beautiful small purse. Alas, I don’t have it anymore. A couple of weeks ago I came across a childrens’ weaver’s frame in a secondhandshop. It was in good condition and I paid only 3,50 euro for it! So, yes, I tried to weave. Well, to be honest, I’m not quite happy with my first result! I used some left over wool (which is not really wool, don’t know how I should name it) but well… I don’t know…  it’s not a very square patch is it! But I will continue and maybe the end result wil be a great placemat or a coaster…

Ik heb geprobeerd te haken en te breien op een breiring dus is het maar een stap verwijderd van weven! Het is alsof ik terug ga in de tijd nu ik al die creatieve dingen weer probeer! Ik kan mij nog herinneren dat ik op de lagere school breide en weefde (en een robot maakte van wasknijpers maar daarover een andere keer). Klinkt misschien raar maar ik kan mij niet meer herinneren hoe ik weefde! Ik neem aan dat ik een weefraam gebruikte. Wat ik mij wel kan herinneren is dat een moeder van een van mijn klasgenoten ons weven leerde en dat ik thuis kwam met een prachtig geweven beursje. Helaas heb ik m niet meer. Een paar weken geleden trof ik een weefraam voor kinderen aan in een kringloopwinkel. Het weefraam was in goede conditie en maar 3,50 euro! Ja, ik heb al geprobeerd te weven maar ik ben niet echt tevreden over mijn eerste resultaat! Ik heb wat wol gebruikt dat ik nog over had (nou ja, wol, het lijkt op wol) maar.. het is niet echt een vierkant lapje geworden! Maar ik ga door en misschien heb ik dan straks wel een geweldige placemat of een onderzetter….

IMG_2651

IMG_2657

2 comments

  1. Enjoyed your post. It’s like stepping back in time in two ways I believe. One, back to the creativity of childhood but also back to earlier times when we had to weave and knit and sew to clothe our families and decorate our homes. These are traditions that are worth preserving I believe.

Geef een reactie

