Treasure hunting on King’s Day

IMG_3775

For the first time we celebrated the birthday of our king: King Willem-Alexander. Saturday it was King’s Day instead of Queen’s Day in the Netherlands. And King’s Day or Queen’s Day means ‘vrijmarkt’ or ‘free market’. In cities and villages people sell their secondhand items. As you can imagine, that means treasure hunting for me! Around 9.00 o’clock I went to the market with my big shopper! At first I couldn’t find anything. There were lots of toys and children’s clothes but not a lot vintage items. There were times when I came home (on my bicycle!) with ten W-Germany vases! Not now. Not one vase. But, large fleamarkets like this means you must see past those cuddly toys, look in carton boxes and literally go down on your knees to check those cups and saucers and realising they are from Rörstrand! So, in the end I was quite pleased with my treasures…

Voor de eerste keer Koningsdag! Ik kan maar niet aan dat woord wennen! Maar goed: zaterdag was het dan zover: struinen op de Vrijmarkt! Heerlijk! Rond 9.00 uur was ik er al met mijn oude schooltas (zo’n zwarte boodschappentas met bruine leren hengels: is echt mijn schooltas geweest!). Aanvankelijk kon ik niks vinden. Veel speelgoed en kinderkleding maar niet veel vintage. Vijf jaar geleden of zo kwam ik nog met tien W-Germany vazen thuis -en toen ging ik nog op de fiets…. Maar nu niet. Geen vaas gevonden. Maar, grote rommelmarkten als dit betekent dat je voorbij al die knuffelbeesten moet kijken en in kartonnen dozen moet struinen en echt door je knieën moet gaan om die kop en schotels beter te bekijken. En dan tot de ontdekking komen dat ze van Rörstrand zijn! Dus, uiteindelijk was ik best tevreden met mijn schatten….

IMG_3773

IMG_3768

IMG_3771

IMG_3772

IMG_3779

IMG_3790

One comment

Geef een reactie

