Everyone knows Tina

IMG_5914

What did you do last Saturday? I went to Appingedam to sell my vintage stuff! I collect yes, but I also sell retro and vintage cups and saucers, vases, ceramics, plates, fabrics, books and more. I do this on the internet but now I wanted to sell my things on a market: the Hip & Happening Market in Appingedam. It was the second time Irene van Wijhe and Thessa Wolthuis organised it. The location was lovely, behind the local church in a little park. The weather was great: sun all day long! For the occasion I put on my purple vintage dress. No, I don’t wear vintage clothes all week: I love my jeans and black t-shirt!

Wat heb jij zaterdag ondernomen? Ik ben naar Appingedam geweest om mijn vintage spulletjes aan de man te brengen! Yep, ik verzamel maar ik verkoop ook vintage kop en schotels, vazen, borden, boeken, keramiek en meer. Ik doe dit op Marktplaats maar nu wilde ik mijn spullen gaan verkopen op een markt: de Hip & Happening Markt in Appingedam. Voor de tweede keer organiseerden Irene van Wijhe en Thessa Wolthuis de markt. De locatie was geweldig, achter de plaatselijke kerk in een klein parkje. En we boften met het weer: de hele dag zon! Voor de gelegenheid had ik mijn paarse vintage jurk aan. Nee, ik heb niet de hele week vintage kleren aan: ik ben gek op mijn spijkerbroek met zwart t-shirt!

IMG_5915

IMG_5926

I had a great day in Appingedam. I did sell well and had great conversations with the people that gathered round my stall. For most people the things on my stall were ‘a trip down memory lane’. Who didn’t have a little green blanket with a deer or the portrait of a sleeping boy in his room? And almost everyone (I don’t exaggerate: 90 procent!) was drawn to the two large paintings (well, reproductions) of Tina (by Lynch) and the gypsy girl! I put them in front of my stall and you saw people pointing at the paintings: ‘my granddad had that in his livingroom’, ‘O, look we had that in our house’. A small boy looked at it and let me know that he didn’t like it at all! Ah, well, to young to have fond memories of Tina and Gypsy girl….

Ik had een leuke dag in Appingedam. Goed verkocht en leuke gesprekjes met het publiek. De spulletjes die ik verkoop waren voor veel mensen een ‘trip down memory lane’. Wie had er nou niet een groen dekentje met hert of het portret van een slapend jongetje in z’n kamer? En bijna iedereen (ik overdrijf niet: 90 procent) van het publiek werd aangetrokken door de portretten van Tina (van Lynch) en het zigeunermeisje! Ik had de grote reproducties voor de kraam neergezet en je zag iedereen wijzen naar de schilderijen: ‘mijn opa had die in de woonkamer’ en ‘O, die hadden wij thuis ook!’. Een klein jongetje keek er naar en liet mij weten dat hij ze niet mooi vond. Ach ja, te jong om fijne herinneringen aan Tina en het zigeunermeisje te hebben….

IMG_5960

And then well, what do you do with the money you just earned? Yes, you are going to spend it! I bought this great purse from Huisteil at the stall of Kleingebleven….

En dan ja, wat doe je met het geld dat je net hebt verdiend? Precies! Uitgeven! Ik heb deze geweldige portemonnee van Huisteil gekocht bij het kraampje van Kleingebleven….

One comment

  1. Some of my relatives had the ‘gypsy girl’ painting on their walls. In fact I think everyone in the UK in the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s did. It’s interesting how items can become attractive and desirable, and fashionable, again.

Geef een reactie

