Learning and playing

IMG_6479

There are toys and there are educational toys. When you are Dutch there is a big chance that you played with Loco! This educational toy is about 40 years old and it still exists. I loved playing with it although I hated the exercises that involved numbers because I wasn’t very good at counting in and subtracting. I was more into exercises like: ‘what is missing’ (the lid of a pan for example) or: ‘look for the same’ and ‘what rhymes’. I still have my old Loco (Mini-Loco). I just to have a larger one but I didn’t play with that one as much.

Je hebt speelgoed en je hebt educatief speelgoed zoals Loco! Wie heeft er niet mee gespeeld? Dit educatief speelgoed is al 40 jaar oud en het bestaat nog steeds. Ik speelde er graag mee maar ik vond die rekenoefeningen vreselijk. Ik was niet erg goed in optellen en aftrekken. Ik vond oefeningen als ‘wat mist er’ (de deksel van een pan bijvoorbeeld) of: ‘zoek naar dezelfde’ en ‘wat rijmt’ veel leuker. Ik heb mijn oude Loco (Mini-Loco) nog steeds. Ik heb ook de grotere versie gehad maar daar speelde ik niet zo vaak mee.

IMG_6481

IMG_6475

Take a number, look at the picture and look and the pictures on the black and white sheet. Combine two pictures together and put the number down on the correct picture.

Pak een nummer, kijk naar het plaatje en kijk naar de plaatjes op het zwart-witte vel. Combineer de twee plaatjes en leg het nummer op het goede plaatje.

IMG_6525

And there is your reward after completing the exercise. Put the lid down, turn around and some colourful figures appear! When you have completed the exercise in good order of course!

En daar is je beloning als je de oefening hebt afgerond. Doe het deksel dicht, draai om en kleurige figuren komen tevoorschijn! Als je het goed gedaan hebt natuurlijk!

IMG_6526

My kids have also played with my Loco and then you realize that you are getting older. They didn’t recognize the records…

Mijn kinderen hebben ook met mijn Loco gespeeld en dan realiseer je dat je ouder wordt. Zij herkenden de langspeelplaten niet….

Geef een reactie

