I love apple cake with whipped cream

IMG_6886

I am not a very good cook. You won’t find me in the kitchen sweating to make some lovely apple cake with whipped cream. Or to make a great dish which includes a jugged hare, onions en beer. No, I’m the one that sits at the table and eats all that lovely food. Sometimes I watch ‘The great British Bake off’ or ‘Masterchef’ and I have admiration for those who make those fantastic plates and great cakes but no, I have no intention at all to follow in the footsteps of these great cooks, chefs and bakers! But having said that: I love vintage cookbooks! Like this one: it’s from 1972 and it’s got this lovely title: ”Ilustrated Library of Cooking, Your ready reference for a lifetime of good eating”. It was published by The Family Circle and this book is Volume 4. The pictures are just great.

Ik ben geen keukenprinses. Je treft mij niet bezweet in de keuken aan om een prachtige appeltaart met slagroom te maken. Of een mooi hoofdgerecht met als ingrediënten een hazenpeper, uien en bier. Nee, ik ben degene die aan tafel zit en alles op eet. Soms kijk ik naar ‘The great British Bake Off’ of ‘Masterchef’ en dan heb ik veel bewondering voor de chefs, koks en bakkers die allemaal geweldige taarten en gerechten maken maar nee, ik heb absoluut niet de intentie in hun voetsporen te treden! Maar dat gezegd hebbende: ik ben gek op vintage kookboeken! Zoals deze: uitgekomen in 1972 en het kreeg een geweldige titel mee: ”Ilustrated Library of Cooking, Your ready reference for a lifetime of good eating”. Het boek werd gepubliceerd door The Family Circle en dit boek is Volume 4. De foto’s zijn prachtig.

IMG_6879 IMG_6888 IMG_6880 IMG_6877 IMG_6875

 

 

One comment

Geef een reactie

