Some things remain a mystery

IMG_6763 IMG_6764

One of the reasons I visit secondhandshops is to find items that are really unusual or items I don’t know much about but are simply beautiful. I love to come home with them and find out what they are and who made them. Some years ago I spotted some Swedish tableware. I just loved the décor and bought some of it. When I came home and looked on the internet I realised the tableware was from the well known Rörstrand manufacturers. The décor was Amanda. Sometimes there are two flea markets at the same time. Difficult choice where to go first because as you know, you have to be there on time! Well, sometimes the flea market you choose second proves to be the right one…. Once I spotted an enamel bowl between some left overs pots and pans and flowerpots. It was the famous Arabia mushroom bowl by Kaj Franck…  A couple of weeks ago I bought some vases which are beautiful but… I can’t find any information about them. One is a red-blue vase with a mark but I cannot read it! Is it Svanninge? Is it Danish? Is it West-German? Who can tell me the story of this stunning vase?

Een van de redenen dat ik kringloopwinkels bezoek is dingen te vinden die ongewoon zijn of dingen die gewoon mooi zijn maar waarvan ik geen idee heb wat het is of wie het heeft gemaakt. Ik vind het heerlijk om thuis te komen en uit te zoeken wat ik nou precies gekocht heb. Een paar jaar geleden kocht ik Zweeds serviesgoed. Ik vond de kleuren van de borden gewoon prachtig. Toen ik op internet zocht, bleek het serviesgoed te zijn van de bekende producent Rörstrand (décor: Amanda). Soms zijn er twee rommelmarkten op hetzelfde tijdstip. Moeilijke keuze waar je dan het eerste heen gaat want zoals je weet moet je op tijd bij een rommelmarkt zijn! Nou, soms is het niet zo erg als je nog even naar de rommelmarkt gaat die je tweede keuze was. Een keer ontdekte ik tussen de laatste potten en pannen en de bloempotten een emaille schaal. Bleek het de beroemde Arabia champignon schaal van Kaj Franck te zijn… Een paar weken geleden kocht ik een paar mooie vazen maar ik kan geen informatie over ze vinden. De rood-blauwe vaas is aan de onderkant gemerkt maar ik kan het niet lezen! Staat er Svanninge? Is het Deens? West-Germany? Wie kan mij het verhaal van deze te gekke vaas vertellen?

IMG_6950

IMG_6945

And then there are these two vases. I don’t like glassware much but these one are intriguing. Yet again, who made them? I don’t think they are vintage but are they design vases? Is it from Leonardo? Bought at Harrods? Or maybe at Woolworths? Well, if you know more, let me know. Or will some things remain a mystery?

En dan zijn er deze twee vazen. Ik ben niet zo gek op glaswerk maar deze zijn intrigerend. Alweer, wie maakte ze? Ik denk niet dat het vintage is maar zijn het design vazen? Van Leonardo? Of gekocht bij de Xenos of Action? Als je meer weet, laat het mij weten. Of zijn er zaken die gewoon een mysterie blijven?

Geef een reactie

