Hauptmann von Köpenick

IMG_8315

A while ago I wrote about souvenirs and the fact that you can find them in almost every second hand shop. If you want a collection of dolls with folkloric costumes you can fill a cabinet in no time. Most souvenirs I don’t like but sometimes you can find some interesting -or do I have to say- weird items. Take this kangaroo for example. It must be something someone took home after a travel through Australia. Did they use this salt & pepper set when they were sitting at the kitchen table? Did it bring back memories of their trip? It’s so kitsch that I like it!

Een tijdje geleden schreef ik over souvenirs en het gegeven dat je ze in bijna alle kringloopwinkels wel tegen komt. Als je een verzameling poppen in klederdracht wilt, kun je binnen no time a vitrinekast vullen. De meeste souvenirs vind ik niks maar soms kom je iets interessants tegen, of moet ik zeggen, heeeeel bijzonder. Neem nou deze kangoeroe. Dit moet toch iets zijn dat iemand uit Australië heeft meegenomen. Gebruikten ze dit peper & zout setje als ze aan de keukentafel zaten? Kwamen er herinneringen los aan hun reisje? Het is zo kitsch dat ik het weer leuk vind.

IMG_8446 IMG_8447

A couple of weeks ago an employee from a second hand store put a lot of souvenirs on the shelves. Yes, there were the dolls but there was also a cute little man in a wonderful vintage box! It is the Hauptmann von Köpenick, a ‘souvenir aus Berlin’. He is in pristine condition, as is the box. You can find more about this folk hero on Wikipedia. Great story but for me this purchase means I have to find the other dolls that are displayed on the box: the Eckensteher Nante and the Blumenfrau. Isn’t that how most collections start? You find something, like it and want to have more. O I see, that is why I have some many vases from W-Germany….

Een paar weken geleden zette een medewerker van een kringloopwinkel een hoop souvenirs in een kast. Yep, daar waren de poppen maar er was ook een lief klein mannetje in een prachtige vintage doos! Het is de Hauptmann von Köpenick, een ‘souvenir aus Berlin’. Hij verkeert in prachtconditie, evenals de doos. Op Wikipedia kun je meer vinden over deze volksheld. Mooi verhaal maar voor mij betekent deze aankoop dat ik nu ook de andere figuren die op de doos staan, wil hebben: de Eckensteher Nante en de Blumenfrau. Beginnen collecties niet meestal zo? Je vindt iets, vindt het leuk en je wil meer. O, ik begrijp het, daarom heb ik zoveel vazen van W-Germany…

IMG_8448 IMG_8449 IMG_8450

2 comments

Geef een reactie

