Cups and saucers and traffic signs

IMG_0728

Treasure hunting is sooo much fun. The last couple of weeks were really good because I visited some great fleamarkets. There I was again with my big shopper and enough small change in my pocket.  I bought some orange West-Germany vases and the well known drawing of the deers by Han van Meegeren. The woman who sold me the small picture told me that she had the same drawing at home. I guess there are still a lot of deers of Van Meegeren in the Dutch households! There was also a small auction at the fleamarket. A wooden box got me excited: it contained school stamp! They accepted my bid and I went home with a shopping bag full of treasures and a heavy wooden box I could hardly carry to my car. At home I inspected the wooden box and it turned out the stamp depict the countries of Europe, but the Europe before the Wall fell. There was the stamp with ‘West-Germany’ and the stamp with ‘Eastern-Germany and Poland’. One stamp is missing: I think it’s the one from The Netherlands.

Schat zoeken is zooooo leuk. De afgelopen weken waren weer top want ik bezocht een aantal geweldige rommelmarkten. Daar was ik weer met mijn grote boodschappentas en genoeg kleingeld op zak. Ik kocht een paar oranje vazen van West-Germany en de bekende prent van de hertjes van Han van Meegeren. De dame die mij het schilderij verkocht, vertelde me dat ze dezelfde prent ook had. Ik denk dat er nog heel veel hertjes van Van Meegeren in de Nederlandse huishoudens te vinden zijn! Er was ook een kleine veiling op de rommelmarkt. Een houten kist maakte mij enthousiast. Er zaten allemaal schoolstempels in! Mijn bod werd geaccepteerd en ik ging naar huis met een boodschappentas vol schatten en een houten kist die zo zwaar was dat ik m bijna niet naar de auto kon tillen. Thuisgekomen bleek de kist stempels van Europa te bevatten, maar dan het Europa van toen de Muur nog niet gevallen was. Daar was de stempel met West-Duitsland en de stempel met Oost-Europa en Polen. Een stempel mist: vermoedelijk die van Nederland.

IMG_0646 IMG_0618 IMG_0648

I found more school stuff: two boxes full of magnetic traffic signs who can be placed on a metal (black)board. But the most mysterious find were some ordinairy cups and saucers. I noticed on the ears some words but at first I couldn’t read what it said. I thought it was Chinese or something but then I realized it read: Ten Have. Totally Dutch. The cups and saucers were produced for the company Ten Have, a coffee roaster company from Deventer. I love the tableware but I have no idea how old they are. From the fifties? Who is still sipping their coffee or tea from these cups?

Ik vond nog meer schoolspullen. Twee dozen vol met magnetische verkeersborden die op een metalen (school)bord bevestigd kunnen worden. Maar de meest mysterieuze vondst waren gewone kop en schotels. Ik zag dat er op de oren woorden stonden maar ik kon het niet lezen. Ik dacht dat het Chinees was of zo maar toen zag ik het ineens: Ten Have. Niks Chinees maar gewoon Nederlands. De kop en schotels zijn geproduceerd voor Ten Have Koffie uit Deventer. Ik vind het serviesgoed prachtig maar heb geen idee hoe oud het is. Jaren vijftig? Wie drinkt nog steeds zijn koffie of thee uit deze kopjes?

IMG_0641 IMG_0643 IMG_0683 IMG_0686

2 comments

Geef een reactie

