Colourful but not that much

IMG_0879

I love colours! Especially purple and orange. Although you wouldn’t believe me when you meet me because I wear a lot of black! You know why: because my curves look great in a black! But… when I crochet, I like to mix all those funky colours. Yellow and purple and blue and orange. A couple of weeks ago I started a new project. I want to crochet a blanket using my favourite yarn: Schachenmayr Sun City and yarn from Xenos. I ransom picked the colours for my hexagons and enjoyed the colourcombinations. I then crocheted al those hexagons together but after ten or so I didn’t quite liked what I was doing. There were so many dazzling colours! I thought maybe I had to wait and see and crocheted ten more. But that wasn’t the solution. I just didn’t like it. So, I made a radical decision. I took all the circles apart and started again, using only white yarn to crochet them together. Immediately I realised that it looks so much better. The colours are sparkling now and not dazzling you. I became so enthusiastic that in two days I crocheted 20 circles into hexagons! My blanket is taking shape. My first large blanket for those cosy evenings in the winter.

Ik houd van kleuren! Vooral paars en oranje. Hoewel je dat niet zou zeggen als je mij ziet want ik draag vaak zwarte kleding! Je weet waarom: mijn rondingen komen in zwart beter uit! Maar… als ik haak, dan vind ik het heerlijk om al die kleuren te mixen. Geel en paars en oranje en blauw. Een paar weken geleden ben ik een nieuw project begonnen. Ik wil een sprei haken van mijn favoriete garen: Schachenmayr Sun City en katoen van de Xenos. Willekeurig koos ik de kleuren en genoot van de kleurencombinaties die aldus ontstonden. Daarna haakte ik de hexagons aan elkaar maar na tien zeshoeken vond ik het niet echt geweldig wat ik had gehaakt. Zo veel duizelig makende kleuren! Ik dacht: misschien moet ik even wat geduld hebben en ik haakte er nog tien aan vast. Maar ik vond het echt niet mooi. Ik nam een radicaal besluit. Ik heb alles uit elkaar gehaald (de rondjes bleven heel) en ben opnieuw begonnen. De gekleurde rondjes zijn nu voorzien van een witte rand. Ik zag meteen dat dit veeeel mooier is! De kleuren komen beter uit door het wit rondom. Ik werd zo enthousiast dat ik in twee dagen twintig hexagons aan elkaar haakte! Mijn sprei krijgt vorm. Mijn eerste grote sprei voor die gezellige winteravonden.

IMG_0949 IMG_1101 IMG_1106 IMG_1125

5 comments

  1. Two years ago I learned how white makes colors sparkle more, and my home has never been more cheerful. Just yesterday I came to terms with the fact that black is simply the sharpest wardrobe “color”. Both of these make colors more vibrant, so it’s a double win!

Geef een reactie

