Books, books, books

IMG_1866

I love books! When you go shopping with me, you better avoid the bookstores because I can stay there for hours…. I love books about social history (especially about England) and (true) crime books. At this moment I am reading ‘Den stumma flickan’ by the Swedish writers duo Hans Rosenfeldt and Michael Hjorth. It’s their fourth book about criminal profiler Sebastian Bergman. Can’t wait to finish it! (No, I am not reading it in Swedish but I could not find the English translation -if it is already translated). When I visit secondhand stores and fleamarkets I am always on the lookout for vintage children’s books and books about crochet and sewing. Recently I found two great books. An old schoolbook about needlework and a book about knitting and crochet from 1987. I think the schoolbook is from the fifties but I can not find a date in it. It contains a knittingpattern for a nappy pants (is that the right word?) for small children and a sewingpattern for a sunny dress! The other book has patterns and designs that are still used today. Or should I say: they were never out of fashion?

Ik houd van boeken! Als je met mij gaat winkelen, kun je beter de boekwinkels vermijden want ik kan er uren verblijven.. Ik lees vooral boeken over sociale geschiedenis (vooral over Engeland), thrillers en true crime boeken. Op dit moment lees ik ‘Het stille meisje’ van het Zweedse schrijversduo Hans Rosenfeldt and Michael Hjorth. Het is hun vierde boek over forensisch psycholoog Sebastian Bergman. Ik kan niet wachten om het boek uit te lezen! Als ik kringloopwinkels en rommelmarkten bezoek, ga ik altijd op zoek naar vintage kinderboeken en boeken over haken en naaien. Onlangs vond ik een oud schoolboek over handwerken ‘met de groteren’ en een boek over haken en breien uit 1978. Ik denk dat het schoolboek uit de jaren vijftig stamt, maar ik kan geen jaartal vinden. Het bevat een breipatroon voor een luierbroekje en een naaipatroon voor een zonnejurkje! In het andere boek staan patronen en ontwerpen die vandaag de dag nog steeds gebruikt worden. Of moet ik zeggen: die nooit uit de mode zijn geraakt?

IMG_1868 IMG_1867

IMG_1874IMG_1869

Apart from reading books I pick up my crochet work now and then, when I have some spare time. My small blanket takes shape! I hope I can finish it this year.

Naast lezen pak ik in mijn vrije tijd af en toe mijn haakwerk op. Mijn sprei krijgt langzaam vorm en ik hoop dat ik m dit jaar nog af krijg.

IMG_1877

2 comments

Geef een reactie

