Is it just a vase or…..?

20160423_175328

Fleamarkets are great for treasurehunting. I have written about this before. What I really like is finding something, not having a clue what it is or who’s the designer, coming home and realise it is really a treasure… Take this vase. Nothing special you would say… well… there are only 250 pieces of this particular design and this is number 25! When I came home, I turned the vase upside down, read the inscription and realised that it is a very special vase… It’s by Royal Leerdam Crystal. The ‘Column of Orange’ was designed on the occasion of the birth of Princess Amalia in 2003. I only bought the vase because I liked the orange stripes and the unusual design!

Het is heerlijk schat zoeken op rommelmarkten. Ik heb er al eerder over geschreven. Wat ik echt leuk vind, is om iets te vinden waarvan je geen idee hebt wat het voorstelt of wie het heeft ontworpen.  Hup in de auto, thuiskomen, je schatten uitstallen en er achter komen dat je echt een schat hebt gevonden. Neem nou deze vaas. Niks bijzonders zou je denken. Toch wel. Het is de ‘Zuil van Oranje’ van Royal Leerdam Crystal. De vaas werd ontworpen ter gelegenheid van de geboorte van Prinses Amalia in 2003. Er zijn maar 250 exemplaren van gemaakt en dit is nummer 25… Ik ontdekte pas hoe het zat toen ik de vaas omdraaide en de inscriptie las. Ik kocht de vaas omdat ik de oranje strepen mooi vond en vanwege het ongewone ontwerp!

20160423_175334

 

Geef een reactie

